Aurealis Award Winners

I have survived my first Aurealis Awards……..just. Late night champagne at the after-party did not agree with me! It was a really long drive home from Canberra yesterday.

I met some great people – authors, editors, poets, aspiring authors like myself and learned more about the industry and the dedication it takes to become an author. I also decided that writing short stories is something that I would like to try my hand at. I might even step out of my comfort zone of fairies and dragons and try something dystopian… or even horror. Lets see if I have the imagination for horror!


  • Conflux Writers Day

Firstly the day started with the Conflux Writers Day where I became motivated all over again after hearing authors and industry geniuses speak about books, the craft of writing, hints on editing & publishing, building an online presence, world building and most importantly carving out time for writing and guarding that time ferociously. Grrrr.

I really needed that right now as I can easily be tempted away (mostly by cute puppies, social media & too much research for my book that I don’t spend enough time writing!) but also not being disciplined enough with my time.


  • Aurealis Awards Ceremony

The awards began at 7pm with entertaining commentary from the Masters of Ceremonies Sean Williams and Simon Brown, hauntingly beautiful music by Fildenstar, followed by the awards and after-party at the Novotel Canberra. Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners!

It was so exciting to watch the winners as they accepted their awards! Writing does not seem to be an industry with frequent accolades. It is generally a solitary existence of writing, writing and more writing followed by plenty of rejections.

I was excited when the Best Children’s Book was won by The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie by Kirsty Murray. I chose her book for the first month of my Book Club and I can’t wait to start reading it. Join us this month as we read it, along with The Golden Door by Emily Rodda. See Lisa & Holly’s Online Book Club page for more details.


Aurealis Awards winners:

  • BEST CHILDREN”S BOOK: The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie by Kirsty Murray
  • BEST YOUNG ADULT SHORT FICTION:  By Bone-Light by Juliet Marillier
  • BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL (Tie): These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner AND Fairytales for Wilde Girls by Allyse Near
  • BEST ANTHOLOGY (Tie): The Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2012 by Liz Grzyb & Talie Helene AND One Small Step, An Anthology of Discoveries by Tehani Wessely.
  • BEST COLLECTION:  The Bone Chime Song and Other Stories by Joanne Anderton
  • BEST ILLUSTRATED BOOK OR GRAPHIC NOVEL (Tie): Burger Force by Jackie Ryan AND The Deep Vol. 2: The Vanishing Island by Tom Taylor & James Brouwer
  • BEST HORROR SHORT FICTION: The Year of Ancient Ghosts by Kim Wilkins
  • BEST HORROR NOVEL: Fairytales for Wilde Girls by Allyse Near
  • BEST FANTASY SHORT FICTION: The Last Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
  • BEST FANTASY NOVEL: A Crucible of Souls by Mitchell Hogan
  • BEST SCIENCE FICTION SHORT FICTION: Air, Water and the Grove by Kaaron Warren
  • BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL: Lexicon by Max Barry
  • THE PETER MCNAMARA CONVENORS’ AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE: Jonathan Strahan
  • KRIS HEMBURY ENCOURAGEMENT AWARD:  Tristan Savage

 

Congratulations also to the 850 entrants across the 12 award categories – hopefully I am one of those entrants next year.

3 thoughts on “Aurealis Award Winners

  1. Pingback: Conflux Writers Day | InkAshlings

  2. Pingback: Notable Australian Children’s Fiction | Welcome to my Library

  3. Pingback: Conflux 10 – Part 1 | Welcome to my Library

Leave a Reply

